From Safe Distance


Had I been a painter

I would have drawn your face

With all the seven colors there are

across my autumn sky.

Then I would have lain on my back

With all my indignation,staring above

till the end of my time.

Still it would not have quenched my thirst.

***

Had I been a sculptor

I would have curved you out of cold stone

With all the warmth of my soul once there was

I would have made you livelier with every stroke

Inch by Inch,with utmost precision..

Then I would have stared at my creation

Imagining a friend made of flesh and of bones.

I am afraid you still would have left me alone.

***

But I am just a poet

All I can do is Write about you

With all the words that I have ever known

and with all the phrases That I would ever learn

I am not sure how to capture your grace..

Your poise,your smile,your face and your stare.

Someday I shall write the most beautiful poem for you

Still it would not be half as beautiful as you are.

4 thoughts on “From Safe Distance

  1. Seeking utopia November 27, 2011 / 1:53 pm

    It’s beautiful. Almost seemed like I am reading a classic!

  2. Emma November 29, 2011 / 6:39 pm

    Just a poet. Hmmm, I think words have great staying power, and the benefit of them over other mediums is that they can be remembered as long as people continue to pass them along to each other. Interesting concept here, now you’ve got me thinking….

    This is a lovely poem, it is difficult to find sufficient means to express our emotions at times isn’t it…thanks for visiting my blog, look forward to reading more of your poetry.

    • Aveek-howifeel November 30, 2011 / 4:38 pm

      Thank you Emma.It really is difficult to express what we feel…a pen and paper sometimes makes it a bit easier.

Leave a Reply

