~ Need help! Urgent! Please help me out with this! ~


Today morning, I wrote to the person I madly love – “I just want you to know that there are very few changes I will not go through for you”. English is neither her or my first language but its the only language that we both understand. I think she misunderstood what I wrote. Can you guys please explain what does “I just want you to know that there are very few changes I will not go through for you” mean on the comments to this post?

I should not have used a double negative! I should not have! Please help me out fellows. I tried to find examples of double negatives over the internet but could not find a single one which starts with a “There” and has “few” in the middle.

God bless you.

10 thoughts on “~ Need help! Urgent! Please help me out with this! ~

  1. cnrogers January 31, 2014 / 5:34 pm

    Grammatically, the sentence means that you WOULD make most changes for that person. It is a lengthy, grammatical equivalent of “I would do almost anything for you.” Perhaps that is what you intended. I ask you to consider, though, some advice from a stranger. You say you madly love this person. Congratulations. Not many people find that. However, I am concerned about your willingness to change for this person. She loves you, presumably, as you are now, and unless you suffer from some sort of serious addiction or other such dangerous problem, changing yourself seems both counterproductive and unhealthy. Be who you are; if she loves you she’ll love you for it. I wish you luck and love.

    • Aveek-howifeel January 31, 2014 / 5:37 pm

      Thank you. With us everything will be good. I am addicted to her and I have no other addiction. Really appreciate your words.

  2. emma1951.wordpress.com January 31, 2014 / 6:20 pm

    There are always subtle accommodations to be made in order to maintain or improve any relationship – as You say! I was with the FIRST & second sentences in the prior comment, but she lost me after that. AND, after all, it’s a love poem…

      • emma1951.wordpress.com January 31, 2014 / 6:58 pm

        a love letter then? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Aveek-howifeel January 31, 2014 / 7:16 pm

        this is real. not a love letter. Just wanted her to see the comments and understand I said nothing wrong…or did I?

      • emma1951.wordpress.com January 31, 2014 / 7:23 pm

        Well then, you said nothing wrong!

      • emma1951.wordpress.com January 31, 2014 / 7:38 pm

        Changes can mean growth…

      • Aveek-howifeel January 31, 2014 / 7:52 pm

        Thank you, even though its her thing to decide. I just wanted some people who donโ€™t know me personally to explain what I meant to her. but as it turns out she knows ..

  3. Arpita August 25, 2014 / 5:15 pm

    What a fantastic way this is ๐Ÿ˜‰ Both of you can have a good laugh over this when u are oldies ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

